As the Abbott Government turned one, Community Council for Australia (CCA) threw its birthday party, providing a charitable view of the Government’s first year in office.

CCA Chair, Rev Tim Costello and sector leaders Jan Owen CEO of Foundation for Young Australians and Toby Hall CEO St Vincent’s Health Australia put the not for profit sector’s outlook and the issues firmly back on the national agenda with national media coverage and political commentary flowing from the day.

A charitable view of the Abbott Government's first year in office National Press Club, Canberra

Monday, 8 September 2014, 11.45am-2.00pm

Join us for a challenging discussion with three acclaimed charity leaders about the year that was and the year that lies ahead - exactly 12 months and one day since the election of the Abbott Government.  

30 April,2014, Sydney

There is approximately $500 million of unclaimed funds in lapsed financial accounts in Australia. As part of our 2014 budget submission, CCA has called for the investment of these funds to help build capacity in the not-for-profit sector.

CCA invites members to join CEO David Crosbie, and corporate engagement expert Ian Cook in a roundtable discussion in Sydney on this topic. Ian has conducted extensive research on this matter, and we would value member's input as we progress this concept.

2014 Free NFP Briefing – ACNC and Tax Update

8.30-10am, 5 March, CBD Melbourne

David Locke from the Australian Charities and Not-for-Profit Commission will provide an update on activities of the ACNC and likely future developments and Mark Northeast of Pitcher Partners will focus on the latest developments in tax issues facing NFP organisations.

Register here.

National Press Club Address 16 June 2011

Thank you very much for having me here today. I have long been an occasional listener, albeit from a distance, to these lunch time addresses and I find it an extraordinary privilege to be at this podium today.

As I’ve said many times this year, I feel somewhat awkward about having been named the 2011 Australian of the Year. Let me explain.